The Nobel Prize in Physics 2022 to the Frenchman Alain Aspect

image alliance / dpa/image alliance via Getty I October 3, 2022, Sweden, Stockholm: A bust of Alfred Nobel stands in Stockholm’s Karolinska Institute. The week of the Nobel Prize announcement begins with the announcement of this year’s winners of the Nobel Prize in Medicine. Photo: Steffen Trumpf/dpa (Photo: Steffen Trumpf/picture alliance via Getty Images)

image alliance / dpa/image alliance via Getty I

(Photo taken in Stockholm, Sweden on October 3, 2022 before the Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded. Here a bust of Alfred Nobel)

SCIENCE – Second episode of the year 2022. On Monday, Swede Svante Pääbo received the Nobel Prize in Medicine for “his discoveries regarding extinct hominin genomes and human evolution”. This Tuesday, October 4, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to the Frenchman Alain Aspect as well as John F. Clauser and Anton Zeilinger for their work in quantum mechanics.

Awarded by the Swedish Academy of Sciences, the award was given last year to two experts in climate change modelling, the American-Japanese Syukuro Manabe and the German Klaus Hasselmann, as well as the Italian Giorgio Parisi, a specialist in complex physical systems.

Physics is the second prize of the Nobel vintage, the winners of which will be announced in the next seven days. The next prizes will be awarded according to the following schedule:

  • Chemistry, Wednesday 5 October at 11.45.
  • Literature, Thursday 6 October at 1 p.m.
  • Fred, Friday 7 October at 11 a.m.
  • Economy, Monday 10 October at 11.45.

Ten years of prize winners in physics

Before Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi in 2021, here are the winners of the last ten physics prizes:

  • 2021: Syukuro Manabe (Japan/USA) and Klaus Hasselmann (Germany) for their work on the physical modeling of climate change and Giorgio Parisi (Italy) for his work on the interaction between disorder and fluctuations in physical systems at the atomic to planetary scale.
  • 2020: Roger Penrose (Great Britain), Reinhard Genzel (Germany) and Andrea Ghez (USA) for their discoveries on “black holes” and the secrets of our galaxy.
  • 2019: James Peebles (USA/Canada), Michel Mayor (Switzerland) and Didier Queloz (Switzerland) for their work on the cosmos and the first discovery of an exoplanet.
  • 2018: Arthur Ashkin (USA), Gérard Mourou (France) and Donna Strickland (Canada) for their research into lasers that enabled the development of high-precision tools used in industry and medicine.
  • 2017: Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne (USA), for the observation of gravitational waves, which confirms a prediction of Albert Einstein in his general theory of relativity.
  • 2016: David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz (UK) on Topological Insulators, Materials “exotic” which would make it possible in the more or less near future to create overpowered computers.
  • 2015: Takaaki Kajita (Japan) and Arthur McDonald (Canada) to establish that neutrinos, elementary particles, have mass.
  • 2014: Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano (Japan) and Shuji Nakamura (USA), inventors of the light-emitting diode (LED).
  • 2013: François Englert (Belgium) and Peter Higgs (Great Britain) for their work on the Higgs boson, an elementary particle.
  • 2012: Serge Haroche (France) and David Wineland (USA) for their research in quantum optics, which makes it possible to create super-powerful computers and extremely precise clocks.

Like the economics prize and other science prizes, the Nobel Prize in Physics suffers from a lack of female laureates, but few female names were among the speculations this year. Only four women have won in physics since the awards were established in 1901, the last being American astrophysicist Andrea Ghez two years ago.

Also look at The HuffPost: The Nobel Prizes told in comics

Leave a Comment