Star Wars: how to watch movies and series in chronological order

Star Wars: how to watch movies and series in chronological order

With the release of prequels, sequels, series, animated series, of course, the following questions arise: in what order to watch Star Wars? On this simple question, opinions will inevitably be different. Some will prefer to see the trilogies in the release order (which avoids large spoilers), others in chronological order.

Subscribe to Disney +>

The purpose of this ranking is not to guide you towards a viewing order, but simply to place the different performances in relation to each other from a temporal point of view, if you want to embark on a (re) viewing of the available saga. at Disney +.

Episode 1: The Phantom Menace

© Lucasfilm

Star Wars prequels begin 32 years before the Battle of Yavin (BBY), the famous Death Star battle seen in the original Star Wars movie. The discovery of 9-year-old Anakin Skywalker starts the Skywalker saga. Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn senses a strong Force presence around the young man and suspects he may be destined to restore balance in Force.

Meanwhile, Darth Sidious, a Sith Lord in line with the dark side of the force, is secretly working to destroy the Jedi and manipulate the political system of the Galactic Republic.

Episode 2: Attack of the Clones

© Lucasfilm

We jump 10 years up to 22 BBY for the second film in the Skywalker saga. At this point, Anakin is Obi-Wan Kenobi’s Jedi apprentice and a rather moody teenager. Although it is against the rules of the Jedi Order, he also falls in love with Padmé Amidala.

Meanwhile, Count Dooku, an apostate Jedi, seeks to undermine the republic, but what is his connection to Darth Sidious?

The Clone Wars

© Lucasfilm / Disney

This CG animated series (consisting of one movie and six TV seasons) spans 22-19 BBY. It tells the story of the intergalactic hostilities that broke out at the end of Attack of the Clones and focuses on Ahsoka Tano, Anakin’s apprentice. She’s not part of the Skywalker saga, so no episode number here. After the last episode, the story continues in The Bad Batch.

Section III: Revenge of the Sith

© Lucasfilm

It’s 19 BBY, the end of the Clone Wars, and Darth Sidious takes the final step in his plan to recreate the galaxy as the galactic empire with himself as emperor. Meanwhile, Anakin is tempted by the dark side – and Darth Vader’s birth is approaching …

The bad batch

© Disney

The Bad Batch is the sequel to Clone Wars and follows a team of maladapted soldiers called Clone Force 99. We follow their adventures in the wake of Revenge of the Sith as the galactic empire takes over the galaxy. The release date celebrated Star Wars Day, May 4, 2021.

Solo: For Star Wars Story

© Lucasfilm

This independent film takes place 10 or 13 years before the Battle of Yavin and takes us through the life and time of Han Solo, a skilled pilot. It is not part of the Skywalker saga, but is worth seeing to see the origins of the Millennium Falcon and Han and Chewbacca’s first encounter.

Obi-Wan Kenobi

© Lucasfilm

The next Disney Plus miniseries launches on May 27th. It takes place in 9 BBY, between the events of the prequels and the original trilogy. Ewan McGregor plays Obi-Wan, who hides on Tatooine, but the empire is never far away …

star wars rebels

© Disney

This animated TV series, which ran for four seasons, follows a group of rebels challenging Darth Vader and the Empire, and takes place in 5 BBYs.

Rogue One: To Star Wars Story

© Jonathan Olley

Another independent film, this one leads into the Battle of Yavin. Rogue One shows the Rebel Alliance’s first major victory against the Empire, while a silly team of defectors and spies seek to steal the cartoons for the terrifying Death Star superweapon.

Title IV: A new hope

© Lucasfilm

The fourth episode of the Skywalker saga (and the first Star Wars movie) takes place this year 0 BBY and builds up to the famous Battle of the Death Star. Darth Vader is determined to find the stolen Death Star plans and captures Princess Leia, sparking a series of events in which Luke Skywalker and Han Solo join the Rebel Alliance.

Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

© Lucasfilm

We are reunited with Leia, Luke and Han three years after the Battle of Yavin (ABY) as the Rebel Alliance escapes a raging empire. Luke learns about the workings of power as he tries to become a Jedi, but he discovers an unexpected connection to Darth Vader.

Section VI: Return of the Jedi

© Lucasfilm

A year later, in 4 ABY, the Rebel Alliance attacks the other Death Star. Luke confronts Darth Vader, and the Emperor tries to turn him to the dark side, but Vader’s love for Luke may well bring him back to the bright side of the Force. Meanwhile, Leia discovers that she is Luke’s twin sister and Darth Vader’s daughter as she leads the Rebel Alliance to the downfall of the empire.

The Mandalorian

© Disney +

Viewers were charmed by the little green guy who stole the show in The Mandalorian, a western-style action series centered on a concise bounty hunter taking part in shootouts at the farthest point of the galactic frontier. Five years after the Return of the Jedi, victorious rebels and crushed imperial forces still clash as they draw inspiration from the story of Star Wars icon Boba Fett.

There are two seasons, consisting of a half-hour episode. You do not have to have seen the previous spinoffs to understand it, but season 2 will be particularly satisfying if you’ve seen The Clone Wars.

Boba Fett’s book

© Lucasfilm

Following the success of The Mandalorian, it was inevitable that the bounty hunter would return. Temuera Morrison repeats the role of an aging Boba Fett, fished from the Sarlacc tomb and wandering in the deserts of Tatooine in search of a new purpose. Technically, one wonders where to place this series in the timeline, for it actually tells two stories: a flashback just after Return of the Jedi, which explains how Fett survived his fate in this film, and another in the same “present” as The Mandalorian. However, it’s best to watch it afterwards, as there is a lot of overlap between the two programs, and one of the episodes acts as a sort of pilot for The Mandalorian season 3.

star wars resistance

© Lucasfilm

This two-season anime TV series takes place before, during and after The Force Awakens (34 BBY) and follows the unhappy resistance spy Kazuda Xiono as he works to stop a First Order plot.

Section VII: The Force Awakens

© Lucasfilm

In 34 ABY, Luke has disappeared, and the mysterious Force-sensitive nomad, Rey, finds himself involved in the resistance movement. Meanwhile, Ben Solo, Leia and His son, have sunk into the dark side and become Kylo Ren.

Section VIII: The Last Jedi

© Lucasfilm

This film takes place immediately after The Force Awakens, when Kylo Ren takes over the first order. After reuniting with Luke, Rey learns the paths of strength and is determined to bring Kylo Ren back to light. But is this the end of the resistance?

Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker

© Walt Disney Studios

The last chapter of the Skywalker saga. We are in 35 ABY and the living and the dead collide. Rey and Kylo Ren are fighting for their souls when a conspiracy born years ago threatens to bring the galaxy under the thumb of a reborn emperor.

Subscribe to Disney +> article customized by CNETFrance

Leave a Comment